CHAPTER “2”….2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

LET’S LOCK IN THE PLAN!!!

I’m checking the calendar and, like Santa, I’m checking it twice. I can’t comment on the naughty or niceness of things but I do see that I am only three weeks from my departure day of Monday August 15, 2016…..YAY!!!. As I start in earnest to get ready for the trip at hand I think back to all the vacations that I have had in my life. As far as I know it started back when I was 4 years old (if you do the math you’ll see that it was about the same time that Moses was a teenager give or take a decade).

The first vacation in my memory was my grandmother taking me ON A TRAIN from Pontiac, Michigan to Kansas City, Missouri. Like virtually every other kid in America I was obsessed with trains. I worked on the railroad one day and I was Davy Crockett the next. I can remember parts of that trip like it was yesterday…..like being scared to death at the Chicago train station where the platforms ran between the trains. Then there was the part when I saw my first Diesal. We were picked up in Pontiac by a Grand Trunk steam

diesel
Imagine the excitement for a 4 year old

locomotive that took us to Chicago and that was neat but after we left Chicago and I was looking out the window….HOLY CRAP…. I was in Heaven.   What happened was that while the train was cruising around a curve I could see the front and we were behind a DIESEL. Man….we NEVER saw a diesel in Pontiac.

 

As years went on I did many week long stays up on the farms of my mother’s side of the family. They ran dairy farms north of Lapeer, Michigan. Us “city cousins” would spend time on the farms and the “country cousins” would spend time with us. I think that the country cousins liked us visiting them because when we were there they were kind of excused from a lot of their chores. They certainly liked visiting us because we lived near a lake and we spent all possible time at our little beach.

Later in my mid-teens I would ride an all night Greyhound with my next door neighbor best friend. His grandparents lived in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan. I can’t imagine today dropping a couple 15/16 year old kids off at the bus station to ride the overnight Greyhound 300+ miles ALONE. We had some really, REALLY great times the couple years we did that. By the way….if all goes well I hope to see that buddy while on this trip.

My adult life has had me go on adventures all over North America. Most of them could be a book by themselves. Thinking back over some of them I still shiver with excitement. I also

vietnam
“Camping” in ‘Nam in 1969

went to Vietnam but I guess that doesn’t really qualify as a vacation (I did some serious camping over there).

 

My motorcycle treks have taken me throughout the State of Michigan, around Upstate New York, a long weekend in New Paltz, New York, on Iron Butt rides, touring West Virginia, cruising Georgia and the Carolinas, numerous runs from Florida to Michigan, and many more.

AND YET…………

Before ALL vacations I still get a case of the “excitements”. If my wife and I plan for a weekend in Key West I get excited. If I go into Georgia to see my sister or cousin I get excited. Heck, if we are packing up to spend the night in Orlando I get excited like I was planning to travel around the world. I hope that it always stays like that. I mean, com’on, if you aren’t excited about a vacation that you are about to go on then why the heck bother going at all.

So here I am just three weeks out from loading up the bike and heading across the country. There will be 19 days and roughly 3,500 miles of whatever Mother Nature decides to throw at me. There will be friends to see….old ones and new ones. There will be family. Heck, I even consider some of my family to be friends!!!! There will be my offspring and there will be my offspring’s offspring. There will be gatherings big and small. It will be full of all things good. If there is any “bad” spots they are still “good”….and besides they usually make the best stories.

So now the planning begins in earnest. The first thing that I will do is plan out my route. I’ll go through all of that with you next week. A lot of thinking goes into that. You’ll understand what I mean when I explain it all. After I know the route and have a general idea of when and where I will be doing things I can plan out the packing. I have created the “Don Bova Science Of Motorcycle Packing System”. I was thinking of printing it out with an accompanying DVD and selling it on a TV infomercial but I opted to not do that…..mainly because of my of fear law suits. I would hate to charge someone $98,000.99 (plus s&h) for my system (that should put me right in line with televangelists) and then have someone sue me for $10,000,000 because they didn’t pack enough toothpaste.

So that means that I will let my generous nature shine forth and FOR FREE to the next 100,000,000 readers I will tell you how I plan and pack for a trip. I almost tear up thinking of the love.

Let me get busy. I have 19 days and those roughly 3,500 miles to map out. I have to have just the right clothes, appropriate places to stay, and a rough idea of some kind of an activity schedule……including an occasional afternoon nap. I’ll be spending the next week working on all of that together and I’ll let you know how it’s going next Monday.

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

Enjoy and I’ll talk atcha again next week!!!

One thought on “CHAPTER “2”….2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

  1. Don’t forget you need to get to Clare, MI and stop at Cops and Donuts. That’s a great place to eat and get a delicious dessert at the bakery.

    Like

Leave a Reply

