CHAPTER “7”….DAY 3…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

WEDNESDAY AUGUST 17, 2016…..DAY THREE!!   MILES TODAY: 358.5   TOTAL MILES: 1353.6

You’ll be happy to note that this morning I was waking up mentally in the Eastern Time Zone but physically in the Central Time Zone. The difference between this morning and yesterday morning is that I actually knew there was a difference!!! I would not be silently name calling any hard working people this morning. Well, there could be some name calling but it won’t be due to the time difference.

It was a pretty normal morning and if you have read any of my blogs you already know the basic routine. However, I need to fill up some space with words so I will give you a redundant recap of my morning.

I woke up, as I have for decades, without the aid of an alarm clock. I have enough things alarming me in life so I am not going to add the innocent clock to the list. My first task is always to wake my wife up so she can get to work to support my nasty habit of riding a motorcycle. I gave her a call but I was too late. The dog beat me to the task and had already forced Lisa to take her out and feed her. That made my job easier.

Then it was down to the lobby for breakfast. It is amazing how everything falls together when everyone is working in the same time zone. Breakfast was ready when I got down there.   The desk clerk wandered through and said “well, I guess it’s going to rain all day today”. Yikes!!! I could swear that what I read said that there might be a little drizzle in the early morning but that should all be gone shortly. Now I was in a dilemma. What was I to do?? Should I believe the Weather Channel weather people who are hardly ever right OR should I believe the overnight front desk guy at the Quality Inn? That was a pretty tough call…..the trained meteorologist who is constantly wrong or an untrained sky gazer who had no clue……I figure that it was a dead heat. So I just pulled up the radar and made my own call…….”it is what it is!!”

Out I went and there was a sprinkling drizzle to greet me. I hopped on I-69 and headed north. Like I said, when I started out it was kind of a dreary sprinkle. After about 10 miles the sprinkle was more of a VERY light drizzle and still dreary. A few miles past that it was still dreary but the drizzle stopped completely. About 25 miles into the ride the clouds were breaking up A LITTLE. 40 miles and the pavement was dry as a bone, 55 miles the sun was out, and when I stopped for gas at 130 miles my gloves were completely dry.

I followed I-69 about a third of the way through the State of Indiana and jumped on 231 north….the same highway that took me through Northwest Kentucky. It continued to be a really neat road. It wound its way north through and around the farms of Indiana and the small towns.   My Google printout had me going up to Lafayette, IN and doing a series of turns and U-turns to get onto a route that would take me east across to U.S. 31. I decided that I really didn’t want to deal with that so I stopped in Crawfordsville, IN for gas and to “rid my body of fluids”. I reviewed the map and couldn’t come up with what was the best route to take. I thought I picked a good way but I wasn’t sure. An old guy came of the store and I said “Say, what would be the route you would take if you were going to South Bend?” He said something on the order of “Gosh, that’s a good question”. It was obvious that he wasn’t about to commit himself to anything. So I told him that I looked at highway 28 and to take that over. He said, “yep, yep…..that is probably the best way.” I asked him if it was all paved. He smiled and said that it was gravel ALL the way. Then he laughed and said he was joking and that it was paved real nice. He is probably still giggling about the joke he came up with in the spur of the moment.

The route was perfect and before I knew it I was on U.S. 31 heading for South Bend. I got to the south side of town and headed east toward Mishawaka where my next hotel and Hooters were located. They were only about a quarter mile apart so I decided to swing into the Hooters first and eat before settling in at the hotel. I saw a REALLY dark cloud as I pulled into a store to check my map to make sure I was on the right cross street. There was ONE….just ONE little green spot on the radar map and I was staring right at it. Hmmmm, I was only about 3 blocks from Hooters so off I went and SPALOOSH!!!! The rain came and it came HARD. I rode through it for 2 blocks and pulled into the Hooters parking lot…..AND IT STOPPED!! The damage, however, was done. I was soaked. It is amazing just how wet you can get in a 3 minute, 2 block ride. I was the source of a nice puddle around a table in the restaurant.

wp-1471698323688.jpg
Brittany of Mishawaka

 

While there I wanted to know the correct way to pronounce Mishawaka. So when Brittany, my waitress, came by the table I asked her VERY slowly and VERY distinctly say where I was at. She gave me a Hooters Smile and said “Hooooooooo-terrrrrrrrrrrrrs”. I am now educated.

 

I went to my Comfort Inn and Suites where they recognized my “Elite” status by giving me a little gift bag with a bottle of water, chili Fritos, and Mott’s gummies……It is nice to be noticed.

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

One thought on “CHAPTER “7”….DAY 3…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

Leave a Reply

