CHAPTER “9”….DAY 5…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

FRIDAY AUGUST 19, 2016…..DAY FIVE!!   MILES TODAY: 45.9   TOTAL MILES: 1661.2

Well, as much as it was worth it I was out a little later last night than I planned to be. I didn’t anticipate that my arrival day in town after riding 1,600 in 4 days would have me right back out visiting with friends until 11:00. I sure don’t know how long I could keep up those ridiculous hours…..Let’s face it; I’m OLD!!! I’m not a young buck of 60 anymore!!! Like I said in yesterday’s blog….it was totally worth it. I don’t get to see my buddy Ed and his wife but once or twice a year so I take what I can get, when I can get it, and for as long as I can. Even if it means that I have to stay up to that EVIL 11:00 hour!

My first duty of the day was to call Lisa. I think that I should mention to you that today is her birthday. BaaaAAaad Husband!!! Since I have known Lisa I have only missed two of her birthdays and it just so happens that both of those times I was in Michigan. Instead of the phone call being just another normal “it’s time to wake up………….dear” phone call I changed it to a full rendition of the Happy Birthday song. I can guarantee you that once you’ve sat through that you ARE awake. She was, I am sure, appropriately impressed.

Then it was down to breakfast. I was already getting my day’s schedule pretty much filled up so I hurried on down. I was impressed by the gal that works in the breakfast area. She remembered me from last summer. She didn’t remember anything about me but she remembered me being there.   I personally don’t think that I am all that impressive….I’m not handsome, I’m not a hunk, I don’t have a lot of money, I’m not a NASCAR driver, and I don’t have a top ten album (do they call them albums anymore??) so I’m not sure what the trigger was that tweaked her memory. UNLESS……she just tells everyone that she recognizes them and the laws of averages will make her right sometimes. Then a guy walked past me on the way to his table and he said that I looked just like a guy he knows on the western side of Michigan. Hmmmmm….so maybe THAT guy stayed here and she was in reality remembering him. There’s a paradox in there somewhere.

I went out to the parking lot to get something from my bike and a fellow followed me out and threw his bag into the little pick-up next to where my bike was parked. His buddy with him said that he wanted to hear the bike running. I get that a lot because it is a bigger bike BUT I always tell them that they are probably going to be disappointed because the bike really isn’t all that loud. Nevertheless I fired it up and they were polite and acted impressed but I know that inside they wanted to hear more noise. They asked the other question that I always get and that is did I ride all the way from Florida. I say yes and then I get a little more of an impressed reaction. He asked if I was there for the Dream Cruise (I’ll tell you about that tomorrow) and I told them no but that I was there for my class reunion. He asked (and he was serious) if it was my 25th. I laughed and told him that if he were a girl I’d kiss him……since he was he I just shook his hand!!! I told him it was my 50th and he just went “oh wow”.

Then it was time to head out and see what I could get done. My first task was to buy something to wear to the three reunion events. Coming in I saw that a few miles west of the hotel there was a new JC Penney that was open. So I set my sights on going there. I got to the store and I milled around picking this and selecting that and then putting them back down again………..only to decide that my first thought was the best one so I would pick them back up. Apparently it has been a while since I was in a Penney store because I looked and searched and searched and looked for a cashier island. Being a fully paid member of the male species I refused to ask anyone for help or to point me in the right direction. I just kept meandering around looking for the little circle counters that are throughout the store for a cashier. Come to find out……that is not what they have. Instead all they have now is a checkout section at the exit doors. Who knew!!! Now that I was where I was supposed to be I paid up and I was pretty happy with my choices.

I had killed so much time looking for a cash register in the Penney store that it was near time to meet my friend for lunch. I have known Steve since high school and we can sit for hours exchanging stories of things we did together in our school years, what we did when we weren’t together during our school years, and all the decades of things we have been doing ever since our school years.

wp-1471828504147.jpg
Me, Steve, and Two Coney Dogs

 

The entertainment we provide to each other is pretty endless. Steve had sent me a text the night before while I was having dinner with Ed and he said we should meet for lunch at Leo’s Coney Island in White Lake, MI. So I left the Penney shopping area and went in search of Leo’s. Naturally I saw it as I went past it and had to do a U-turn and come back to it. Nevertheless I was still a tad early (a “tad” is a “smidgeon” more than a “skosh”) so I went in and grabbed us a booth.

 

Minutes later in bounds Steve (we are OLD so “bounds” = “shuffle”) and we proceeded to chit chat and jibber jabber for over two hours about all kinds of things. We have had several of these marathon talks over the years and I don’t think we’ve ever told the same story twice…….except for the story of him inviting me to his wedding that wasn’t his wedding……but that is a story for another time (it’s a good one though). On top of that I was able to eat two Coney Island hot dogs……life is good.

Now the afternoon was starting to crank on by. I needed to get back to the hotel and start to get ready for the reunion. I thought that I should maybe take a little nap BUT…………I got two phone calls and three texts. If they would have all come in maybe a five minute span it would have been great but I would get one and I would have to grab the phone and check it out. About 15 minutes later when I was just good and settled…..there goes the phone!!! Again…..Again…..Again!!! Something had set in motion the idea that I was NOT to nap!! I finally just gave up and got myself off the bed to start getting ready. I ironed the newness from my new clothes and I got myself all prettied up to go.

The first night of the 50th Class Reunion of the 1966 graduating class of Waterford Township High School was a “meet and greet” function at the Pontiac Country Club. The turnout was pretty good for a bunch of OLD people that weren’t going to be getting the Early Bird Special. I saw some old friends that I hadn’t seen in….well, in 50 years!!! There was plenty of fun, conversation, and reminiscing. At first I thought that I was in the wrong room because I walked in and all there was in there were OLD people…..however, it WAS the right room (sigh). It truly was a fun night.

I did get back to the hotel early enough to do an Birthday Skype call to Lisa. I was sneaky enough to have birthday cards on her desk at work and to get some yellow roses given to her. She was happy and having her happy generally keeps me happy. I then took my happy self to bed. wp-1471828573218.jpg

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

2 thoughts on “CHAPTER “9”….DAY 5…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

  1. Hey there Don-you finally got your Coney Dog!! Good for you!! Hello there Steve-our turn next year for WTHS67’s 50th reunion. Hope to see you 3here-HELLO to Pat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

