CHAPTER “11”….DAY 7…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

SUNDAY AUGUST 21, 2016…..DAY SEVEN!!   MILES TODAY: 16.0   TOTAL MILES: 1709.9

Even though I would be attending the “Reunion Brunch” at 9:30 I was still up and ready to head down to the hotel lobby for the 6:00 breakfast. All I partook in was the coffee, orange juice, and a small Danish. I fired off a couple emails and organized some blog postings…….ok, maybe I had two Danish!!

About 9:15 I meandered out to the bike and started the 5 or so mile ride over to the ELK’s building where the brunch was going to be. As I started along M-59 the first thing that I noticed was that the temperature was a bit chillier than I was expecting. I was just wearing a t-shirt and although it was tolerable without the jacket it SURE would have been more comfortable with the jacket.

The brunch was really nice. The group was smaller than the Friday night “meet & greet” and WAY smaller than the actual reunion the night before but it was a good group. The conversation was very relaxed and casual. The food for the brunch (always an important factor for me) was excellent. At 11:00 it was shutting down so a lot of final goodbyes were said and we all scattered about going our separate ways.

My “separate way” was back to the hotel to get warm. It had warmed up some in that hour and a half but not enough to suit this Florida guy. Once back at the hotel I got in a call to Lisa……I gave her a chance to sleep in on this weekend day (although apparently the dog was not generous as I was and had her up early).

Then a friend from WAY back in those high school years, Reeta, came by and picked me up a little after 1:00. First off we went over to Keego Harbor to have lunch at Gino’s Pizza. Gino’s has been one of the kings of the pizza restaurants in the area for many, many years. They are located right next to the banquet hall where my reunion was held the night before…….and, in fact, that hall is owned by Gino’s.   The waitress came over to get our drink orders. We both ordered iced teas and as the waitress walked away I said that she sure looked like one of the bartenders from the reunion. When she came back with our drinks she asked me if I had a good time last night. She remembered me from leaving my helmet with them at the bar. Ginos

After the pizza we drove over by my old neighborhood and passed by the house I grew up in. I still marvel at that house when I look at it. At one time there were 8 of us living in there….5 kids, my parents, and a grandmother. We had 4 bedrooms….three that were really tiny…..with two of them having virtually no heat. There was only ONE bathroom and it was tiny. If we were all in the living room to watch TV at night it was filled to the max. As I kid I didn’t notice any of that. I thought that it was a big house. I look at it now and wonder in amazement how in the heck 8 people (5 of them female) could live in a house that small. The house I am in now is bigger than that one and it is ONLY me and my wife ….and sometimes we think that we are cramped!!!! Maybe it’s our Yorkie that takes up so much room.

20160207_150612.jpg
Our Yorkie taking up space in our house

 

 

From there Reeta paid me back by taking me through her old neighborhood and past her growing up house. Like me she looked in wonderment at the changes and the “small” size of everything. From there we went over to the banks of the Clinton River that flows through good part of Southeastern Michigan before emptying into Lake St. Clair. It weaves through many of the lakes of Waterford, MI and so we pulled into a roadside parking area near my hotel. There were a bunch of cars with trailers and pick-up trucks. We got there just in time to see a WHOLE LOT of kayakers and canoeists coming in. There was a “River Clean-Up Day” going on and they dropped in about 6 or 7 miles upstream and floated down picking up all the trash that they could find. You should have seen some of the stuff they had piled on their kayaks and canoes. Just as the biggest bunch was coming in it started to rain. Our car was right behind where we sitting so we just jumped in. Then we had the greatest time watching the “wet” people from kayaking trying to load up really fast so that they wouldn’t get “wet”. Ahhhh, the logic of humanity!!

Reeta dropped me off at the hotel and I was able to get in a good Skype and some blog catching up before I called it a night. I confess that there wasn’t a lot of motorcycling to report on but it was a very, very good weekend. You know it’s only once every half century or so that a person can partake in their 50th High School Reunion……and I have to admit that it was darn near worth the wait.

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

2 thoughts on “CHAPTER “11”….DAY 7…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

  1. It sounds like you’ve had a really fun trip-your reunion weekend sounds really fun. Makes me look forward to our 50th next year. My father made it to their 65th reunion-out of a graduating class of 19 (Lawrenceburg, Ky 1935) there were 3 grads at the 65th. Hard to believe that many years have passed and we’re closing in on that same record. YIKES!! But I bet your 50th reunion FL to MI and back to FL ON A MOTORCYCLE (YET) will remain one for the RECORD BOOKS DON BOVA!!

    Like

  2. WOW What a creative writer you are! I’ll bet 90% of those classmates of ours don’t know that either….I really enjoyed our breakfast conversation, and so glad I got to know much better. We all had a terrific time at the reunion, many thanks to the committee…Safe travels to you all the way home! Gayanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

