CHAPTER “14”….DAY 10…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

WEDNESDAY AUGUST 24, 2016…..DAY TEN!!   MILES TODAY: 23.9   TOTAL MILES: 1757.4

Every once in a while you get people that in the hotel breakfast area that are worthy of mention.   This morning was the same for me. I got up, called Lisa for her wake-up, got dressed, and headed down to the breakfast room in the lobby. About the same time that I got there another fellow came in about my age. Like me he got his coffee and a sampling of the various breakfast foods available. Nothing remarkable there (even though I just remarked about it)!! About 10 minutes later in walks another gentleman who was also about the same age as me. He rounded up his breakfast choices and sat down. Then they started comparing what each of them had on their last blood work results and what each of their doctors had to say about the same blood work results. If it would have been a passing comment like “oh yeah, I went to the doctor yesterday and things looked ok” and then onto other subject matter I wouldn’t have given it a second thought. However these two people had a lengthy 20 “lay person” discussion on blood results, medications, good and bad cholesterol levels, and doctor comments. It was almost like they were having a contest to see who had the best (worst) health report. I would tell you more about how funny it all sounded but you see…I have this bad arthritis in my hands and ALL the doctors in Florida say I shouldn’t type too much.

When I first arrived here in Waterford I was asked what kind of get gatherings I would have. My answer also included a breakfast. This is the same breakfast that Bernie and his two daughters came to a day early. I scheduled this breakfast for Wednesday August 24 at 9:30.   This would allow me time to do my “first breakfast” at the hotel, do any typing that I had to do, and take care of anything else that might have come up. After the “first breakfast” I was pretty free so I typed some and worked on my packing some because Wednesday night was going to be my last night for this stay at the Waterford Quality Inn.wp-1472128403988.jpg

Pretty much at 9:30 on the dot I pulled into the Highland Grille and went in to see all my adoring fans. I counted them and there were exactly…………and I counted twice just to be positive……..zero people there.   This wasn’t a total surprise. There had been so much activity over the past few days it really didn’t shock me that I was there by myself. If you want to get technical (and to save face I do) there were THREE people that met me for breakfast………..they just came a day early. Not to be deterred I sat and ordered me a meal and ate quietly with only the occasional “would you like me to top off your coffee” to interrupt the silence. To be sure, I would have loved to have shared that time with some others. After all that is why I am in Waterford. At the same time it was nice to have a meal that was quiet, reflective, and unhurried. The food was good and I never ran out of coffee.

I left the Highland Grille and may the 2 mile shot over to the Waterford Cemetery. This is always one of my must stops when I do my pilgrimage back to the old home town. It is almost in the center of the township. There are many people I know who were buried wp-1472128450138.jpgthere.   My brother-in-law’s burial site is there. He is my younger sister’s husband and father of the nephew that I will be spending the weekend with. I knew him before he met my sister…..in fact, I introduced them but that would be a blog story in itself and I will save that for another time. I used to ride with him back in the 1973-1976 window of time. He was a good friend loved by many and died too young. Another death WAY too young was a mother of three daughters that I knew in the very early 70’s. She was a special lady and her girls were precious. She would have been so proud to see one of her granddaughters getting married this summer. There are more…classmates, neighbors, Vietnam casualties, wp-1472304540290.jpgchildren of friends.   On one side of the Waterford Cemetery is the Veteran’s Memorial. A spot dedicated to all Waterford vets. As well as the monument the sidewalk is lined with bricks with the names of different vets from the area. For a few bucks a piece the vet’s name was engraved, will be there forever, and it helped to finance the memorial. All and all this hallowed ground called Waterford Cemetery is a must stop for me and it humbles me to wander its grasses.

I left the Waterford Cemetery and set my sights on Pontiac and into the neighborhood where I bought my first house. It is remarkably the same as it was 34 years ago. One of the remarkable parts is Tom and Pat who lived across the street from me with their two kids. They were living there when I bought the house and they are still living there….empty nesting. Their daughter, Dorothy, was one of the first babysitters we used for our children and my oldest is now 37!! It is fun to stop and visit with Tom and Pat. Even though most everyone and their children have moved on and found new places to live across the country they have kept tabs on a lot of them and are a wealth of knowledge. I didn’t have a ton of time but I spent an hour with Tom and Pat and it was an hour well spent.

Back on the scooter I zipped back out of Pontiac, across Waterford, and into White Lake. I was returning to Dave & Amy’s to meet up with school chum, Steve. I had met with Steve last Friday for lunch (you can read about that in Chapter 9) at Leo’s Coney Island. While we were eating a fast rain blast came. It rained HARD for about 10 minutes. I like it when Ma Nature pounds out the rain when I am inside and stops it before I am back outside.   We did some good chit chatting and when we got done eating Steve invited me over to his house that was only a mile or so from the restaurant. This would give me a chance to see his wife, Pat, who I hadn’t seen yet. Now…..as you read this you will be able to take a big sigh of relief because for the next 3 hours Steve and I solved ALL the world’s problems….except the blood work issues of the two guys at breakfast!! We started with local and wound up taking care of international problems. Now all there is for the world leaders to do is to call either me or Steve and we will be tickled to death to fill them in on just what it is they have to do. If they are reading this be advised that for the next few days you may have to call Steve because I’ll be on the road.

All that problem and issue solving was exhausting so I said goodbye to Steve and Pat and headed back to the hotel. On the way I had visions of all the writing and packing that I would get done. The visions dissolved as soon as I stepped into the room. I mustered the energy to Skype with Lisa and hit the bed for my last night before I spend the weekend with the kids and grands.

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

One thought on “CHAPTER “14”….DAY 10…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

  1. Hi Don-I love reading about your visits to MI-brings back memories of yearly jaunts to MI and running to see old friends-old hang outs. (however we used a car) Does bring back memories of fun!! You have a great time during the rest of your trip-travel safe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

