CHAPTER “16”….DAY 12…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

FRIDAY AUGUST 26, 2016…..DAY TWELVE!!   MILES TODAY: 0.0    TOTAL MILES: 1781.7

WHAT???? No breakfast waiting for me in the lobby??? WT….?? Oops, I forgot that I’m not in a hotel. Let’s see…..I was up this morning before anyone else so I fired up the computer to see what I could get accomplished. As it turned out…..NOT MUCH!! Others started shuffling out one by one. It became obvious that the first task at hand was to run to the grocery store and buy up some donuts. I did just that grabbing two dozen donuts grabbing a good mixture of everything that they had.

For some reason when I came back to the house NOTHING looked familiar and I went right on by it. When I hit the end of the pavement even I could figure out that I missed their house. So I turned around and headed back. THERE IT WAS!! I saw it…….as I drove by it. I didn’t want the donuts to be “day old” before I ever got them to the house. Another turn around and I pulled in. Since nobody saw me going back and forth I didn’t bother to tell them. Shhhh….don’t let them know about it.

The adults (and that term is based on ages and not on maturity levels…..including mine) hovered around the dining area talking while the kids sounded as if they were totally destroying the upstairs. No one came through the ceiling so I am assuming that all is still reasonably in one piece. My daughter said that she would like to take the kids to the movies to see Pete’s Dragon. Everyone seemed ok with it so a quick look at movie times and locations and it was decided that the 1:50 show at the Oxford 7 in Oxford, MI would be the right movie. While that was going on Lisa was calling her “bestie”.   They were very best friends in Richardson, TX through graduation and a decade and a half of adulthood. Lisa moved to Florida with me and now of all places Valerie was only a few miles from us in Michigan. After a few choices thrown back and forth it was decided to meet at the Clarkston, MI Elias Bros. Big Boy at 6:30.

Having all the times and locations set we now had to focus on the process of extracting each of the kids from the Thunderdome raging on the second floor. Surprisingly all the 3rd generation was herded out and the make-over of converting them from wild animals to semi-civilized human being moved along at a good rate. The goal of leaving at 1:00 was only missed by 20 minutes and that was considered a victory. We were piled into two vehicles and headed to the theater….possibly should be recorded in some kind record book. Brett and Angela elected to not go to the movies and kept their 2 year old Maverick at home with them.

wp-1472507086152.jpg

We got to Oxford and only missed the theater once.   Based on my history on this trip only missing something once was a pretty good feat. We sat through Pete’s Dragon and I have to tell you that every one of us thought that it was pretty darn good. Neither Lisa nor I saw the original cartoon version so we didn’t have anything to compare it too. Not many people go to a motorcycle trip blog for their movie reviews but if you happen to be one of those…..it got 7 thumbs up!

We got back to the house and the kids had a couple of hours to get in some swimming. At the same time the guys went to work on the wave runner that seemed to have moisture in the gas line or something that was hindering the proper gas flow.   Everyone was successful.   The kids got to swim and the wave runner is running fine.

Now our goal was set to leave at 6:10 for our Big Boy dinner. This was getting 6 adults and 4 kids from wave running repair or swimming to being fit to be seen in public at a restaurant. We also were doing it in three separate vehicles. Since Lisa was meeting a friend we wanted our freedom to stay later without making them sit around, Brett and Angela wanted the option to leave if Maverick wasn’t content to sit around while there was after dinner chit chat, and that left Dylan and Monique to drive their own car whether they wanted to or not. The arrangement actually turned out to work perfectly.

My focus now had to turn to Lisa. Lisa and Valerie have not seen each other for what we estimated to be 16 years…give or take. We were in the car heading towards Clarkston and she confided in me that she was scared. She said “what if we don’t have anything to talk about?” and then “what will I say to her?” I understood her concern because she really has wp-1472507194772.jpgnever faced this problem. Seeing someone that she hasn’t seen for years and years is not something that she has ever done before. I told her that it would not be a problem whatsoever.   I gave her that reassuring smile and said that I have been doing it for ten days and it has all gone well. I told her that it would flow out of her and Valerie and that they would have to force the evening to stop.

It went PERFECT. The little gal that waited on all of us was fantastic. When the meal was done Brett and Angela scooted out with Trent and Maverick. A little while later Dylan and Monique also left for the night so that they could start the process of bedding the kids. Just as I predicted the two gals chatted away and had to force the night to end. It was super for everyone.  It was extra super for me.  I grew up with the Elias Bros. Big Boy chain in Michigan and I LOVE the Big Boy sandwich.  They are getting rare and very hard to find……I was a happy camper while they hashed through old times

Back at the house we got word that my eldest daughter was just leaving Pellston, MI and heading down. She was later than planned because both of her teenage boys are on the Pellston High football team and tonight was their first game.   They were now on the road and would be arriving around 1:30 AM or so with 2 adults and 4 kids to add into the mix. Brett and Angela’s house would never be the same.

As for me and Lisa……well, we said that we would see them in the morning. We said our goodnights, did our circuit of kissing and hugging everyone, and meandered back to the bedroom.   Zzzzzzzzzzz………..

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation.

Leave a Reply

