CHAPTER “26”….DAY 22…2016 FLORIDA TO MICHIGAN ROAD TRIP!!!

MONDAY SEPTEMBER 5, 2016…..DAY TWENTY-TWO!!   MILES TODAY: 0.0    TOTAL MILES: 2819.2

I have to admit that the lazy side of my brain (contrary to popular belief it is NOT the entire brain) told me to just copy and paste the opening of yesterday. I have to admit that it was very similar…..BUT…it wasn’t exactly the same. I meandered down to the hotel lobby and secured my HUGE cup of black coffee like I have in the past couple of days but this morning I was a hair earlier. I made my way to the pool deck where unlike the past couple mornings I found it to be nearly cloud free. This morning I was going to have a good view of the sunrise. It was something that Bob noticed when he came to join me as did Steve and Jean when they made their way to the pool deck. We broke right into our dsc_4859morning banter but all the while we were peering into the east watching the rise of that bright yellow/orange ball that we hadn’t seen a lot of over the past couple days.

There was to be no breakfast buffet at the Sunrise Café this morning. Today was packing and leaving day. Everyone said that they were going to meet in the lobby, head over to the Marche Burette Deli for a small breakfast. Lisa and I decided to pack up and checkout at the same time. We were nearly packed already so it took us only minutes to be completely ready to go. We went directly to the registration counter in the lobby and checked out. From there we met up with everyone else.

There were a lot of goodbyes and pictures taken. Alice got assurances that I would be 20160905_094532.jpgseeing her for her 70th birthday celebration. They headed for the shuttle and I turned in my ticket for our car. So far the morning 20160905_094515.jpghad been a whirlwind and now Lisa and I stood alone as we loaded the car. We both decided to go ahead and drive to the Marche Burette Deli to do a REALLY final goodbye. That seemed easy enough…….HA!

We were weaving through all sorts of little roads and parking areas…..including the VALET ONLY area. I have a feeling that we were no closer to finding the place than we were before we ever left the hotel. Sheesh!! Then I saw a shuttle sitting there so I pulled up next to him and unlike the character of ANY male human being I asked the driver for directions. Of course that created severe trauma inside my body that I probably won’t go away until I get good and lost sometime in the future. The driver said “follow me” and away he went. In minutes we were parked and on our way in to do a small encore of the Bova family sitting together at a table. Another round of goodbyes we watched as Bob, Laura, Jean, & Steve started walking back to the hotel. Norm and Alice elected to take the shuttle…….. HOWEVER…now that I was such an expert driving around here I volunteered to chauffer them over. Believe it or not I was able to drive straight there without an issue. If we would have stayed a couple more day I believe that I could have applied to be a shuttle driver.

We had a good drive home. “Good” equates to absolutely nothing to report on.

Once home we chit chatted with Lisa’s Aunt Maureen a bit before we headed out to take her home. We were all a bit hungry and thought that a bit of Italian would fit the bill. The

dbpickles
D B Pickles Ormond Beach, FL

first place we stopped, Decato’s, closed for Labor Day…CRAP. The second stop was Lenny’s but they are closed on Monday…..CRAP. Our third choice was D.B. Pickles…..YAY….they were open. We ate and we were happy.

 

We got Maureen home and headed home ourselves. I was going to be in my own bed again…woo hoo!! However, I had to be up early. Why? I’m glad you asked. Obviously the first reason is to fulfill my responsibility of waking Lisa up for work and taking the dog out. Secondly, Sherry would be coming for me to drive me back to Georgia to pick up my bike….EARLY. So we are not done yet!!!! I’ll tell you about it tomorrow.

I hope that you enjoy my trip as you read along with my traveling. Don’t forget that anytime you might feel it appropriate you may “Like” or “Share” this or any of the posts on social media which would, of course, give me a warm and fuzzy feeling inside. You can also drop me a line or leave me a comment. You can write to me at donandlisabova@msn.com using “Your Blog” as the subject line. You can check me out on Facebook by going to www.facebook.com/don.bova also because I will generally have more pictures and comments over there. Also you can read the blog about my 2015 road trip from Florida to Michigan at www.donbovaroadtrips.wordpress.com.   Lastly, you can look at pictures of my past yearly road trips to Michigan dating back to 2009 at www.gotyourpic.com/Vacation

Leave a Reply

